Skip to main content

Since 1999, some of Carolina’s top student-athletes majoring in EXSS have been recognized during their senior year for their outstanding scholarship. Many of their photos grace the walls of the Exercise Science Teaching Laboratory. Beginning in 2009, student athletes have been nominated for this annual award based upon the new eligibility criteria listed below.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Varsity Athlete
  • EXSS Major
  • Graduating Senior Status
  • Have earned a minimum of a 3.6 cumulative GPA

Nomination Process

In late March/early April of the senior year, all EXSS majors who are student athletes and meet the above criteria will be notified via email that they are eligible for this award. A short application form will be sent requesting contact information plus two recommendation letters from EXSS faculty. Only those students who submit their completed materials by that year’s designated deadline will remain eligible for the award. Late applications will not be accepted. The committee will convene and vote on the applicants. The awardee will be honored at the May EXSS Graduation Ceremony; his/her name will be engraved on a plaque that will be displayed in the Fetzer Hall lobby, and his/her athletic UNC biography will be included on the EXSS Scholar Athlete website.

Past Recipients

  • 2015 Cameron Overstreet
  • 2014 Kacie Albert
  • 2013 Zoe De Bruycker
  • 2012  Elizabeth Lindley
  • 2010  Kristina Jacob
  • 2009  Lauren Prussing
  • 2008  Heather Kendell
  • 2007  Anna Evans
  • 2006  Gia Santoro
  • 2003  Mark Curry
  • 2002  Sarah Young
  • 2001  Erin Neppel
  • 2000  Deanne Davis
  • 2000  Max Harris
  • 2000  Tripp Phillips

Past Recipient Bios