Skip to main content

Named in honor of one of Carolina’s “Priceless Gems”, this merit-based scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding undergraduate Exercise & Sport Science major.

Dr. Ronald W. Hyatt, was a professor in the Department of Exercise and Sport Science (EXSS).  He served this great University with distinction for over 40 years.  A native of Latta, S. C., Dr. Hyatt earned degrees from Furman University (BS), and UNC-Chapel Hill (MA and PhD).  Prior to coming to Chapel Hill in 1966, he coached, taught and directed intramural programs at the high school and collegiate levels in both South Carolina and North Carolina.  Dr. Hyatt became the intramural sports director and assistant professor of physical education at UNC-Chapel Hill in 1966, and began touching the lives of thousands of Carolina students.

“Doc Hyatt” served two terms as president of the North Carolina Alliance for Athletics, Health, Physical Education and Dance, and one term as president of the Southern District of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education and Dance.  Nine different organizations presented him with over 25 different honors and awards.  Dr. Hyatt had over 75 publications, including the text book, “The Organization and Administration of Intramural Sports”, and chapters in seven other books.  Dr. Hyatt led commencement and University Day events as UNC-CH’s Faculty Marshal from 1993 to 2003, and he served as Director of The Program for Public Policy in Sport at UNC-Chapel Hill.  His professional areas of interest were many and included:  professional preparation in teacher education, history of physical education and sport, the literature of sport, and the history of the Olympics.  His keen interest in and historical knowledge of physical education and sport was substantial and recognized by many, as well as his poetry.  He was most proud of the fact that during his career he taught students at all levels from elementary school through the collegiate level.  His honors were numerous and prestigious.  They included over the C. Knox Massey Award for Distinguished Service from UNC, the EXSS Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, and the “Carolina Priceless Gem” award from the UNC Athletic Department, in 2000, 2002, and 2005, respectively.  Dr. Hyatt was the 2004 recipient of the highest civilian honor that can be granted in the state of North Carolina, “The Order of the Long Leaf Pine”.

The Ronald W. Hyatt Scholarship, was created and made possible by donations from friends, colleagues, former students, and the family of Dr. Hyatt. The scholarship of $2500, for the current academic year, will be awarded at the annual EXSS Carl Blyth Lecture.


At the time of application, all candidates must:

  • Be full-time Exercise and Sport Science student.
  • Must be a US citizen.
  • Be a declared EXSS major with academic status of a junior and on schedule to complete the degree during the 2024-2025 academic year.
  • Have completed at least 27 credit hours at UNC-Chapel Hill.
  • Have completed at least 2 EXSS required courses in your specialization area of study.  Applicants must have earned a grade of “B” or higher in each of these classes.
  • Have earned a minimum of a 3.6 cumulative GPA at UNC-Chapel Hill.


Application Form

Hyatt Scholarship Application

Application Information


Applications accepted until Friday, February 16th, 2024 at 12/noon

  • Two letters of recommendation from EXSS faculty, with Faculty Endorsement Form completed by same Faculty member who writes the letter of recommendation.
  • A brief essay (maximum of 500 typed words, Times Roman font-size 12) explaining why you are deserving of this award. Include your short and long-term personal and professional goals; awards or honors you have received; and a description of participation in extracurricular activities compatible with the mission of the Department of Exercise and Sport Science: “… to discover, create, and promote knowledge of human movement to improve the quality of life of individuals and society.”
  • Optional – A current résumé if it provides additional information not already provided in the application


Submit Application

All application materials should be submitted to Lacey Singletary at, no later than12/noon on Friday, February 16th, 2024.


Selection Process

A committee will review applications and conduct interviews with finalists. The winner will be formally announced at the Carl Blyth Lecture to be held in the Spring term. The scholarship awardee is expected to be present at the Blyth Lecture, and must be enrolled as a full time EXSS major at the time the award is dispersed in the upcoming Fall term.

Previous Recipients

  • 2023 Christopher K. Noce
  • 2022 Sam B. Duggan
  • 2021 Summer Dunlap
  • 2020 Lindsay M. Diab
  • 2019 Pinyu Chen
  • 2018 Shawn Ahuja
  • 2017 Katherine Buzzard
  • 2016 Leslie Sierra-Arevalo
  • 2015 Olivia DeSena
  • 2014 Danielle Enrique
  • 2013 Brennan J. Ehlinger
  • 2012 Katherine Sutton
  • 2011 Casey Shutt
  • 2010 Deidre Debnam
  • 2009 Steven Ingram
  • 2008 Kevin Murach
  • 2007 Kamesha Holmes